Danish Oikos Society

Danish Oikos Society



The Danish Oikos Society is one of five national societies comprising the Nordic Society Oikos. It holds meetings alternating annually with the NSO biennial conference. The goal of these meetings is both to present new and exciting ecological research and to provide a place where especially students and young researchers can present their work and develop future scientific networks

Danish Oikos donates a number of stipends for students to participate in the joint biennial Nordic meetings.

In connection with the national meetings, Danish Oikos arranges student workshops on topics of general interest to PhD students and postdocs. Two of our previous workshops have thus covered various aspects of writing and publishing scientific papers.

Danish Oikos will in the future also support other minor workshops, arranged and applied for by members. The goal of these workshops is to promote networking among students and young researchers across Danish institutions in the field of ecological research.

Join the Danish society and NSO here and follow our Facebook group.


Become a member


No events in Denmark, please check back at a later date.


Our Society

As of June 2020, the Nordic Society Oikos (NSO) is launching a new website and membership platform with the goal to facilitate membership registration, communication and engagement.

Our Journals
Aerial view of forest

Dear authors, readers and reviewers: We write, above all, to wish you and those close to you continued good health. These are uneasy times and we wanted to let you know that the editorial office of the Nordic Society Oikos (NSO) is open, online and virtually.

Our Society
Reykjavík sculpture

We held our biennial meeting, Ecology in the Anthropocene, in Reykjavík, Iceland, on March 3-5, 2020.


Signe Normand

Deptartment of Biology

Nicolai Vitt Meyling

Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences

Bodil K. Ehlers

Department of Biology

Hans Henrick Bruun

Department of Biology

Bjarke Madsen

Department of Biology

Lars Båstrup-Spohr

Dept Biology

Jonathan Shik

Department of Biology

Simon Bahrndorff

Department of Chemistry and Bioscience

Owen Jones

Department of Biology